State Art Museum of Georgia

The museum is located on Pushkini street with its main facade facing Freedom Square. It was once owned by Iakob Zubalashvili, a Georgian businessman and patron of art. In the 1840s, an Orthodox Ecclesiastic seminary was opened there and, in 1952, it became the State Museum of Art of Georgia.


The building was designed by Italian architect Giuseppe Bernardachi. Based on semi-circular and decorated with giant columns, the building is one of the most important classicist monuments in Tbilisi. According to historians, in the late Middle Ages, there was a huge 80-room caravanserai on the site of the current museum. The caravanserai belonged to King Levan, but was burnt down during the 1724 invasion.


The Golden Fund of the Museum preserves unique samples of Georgian art: icons from medieval times and the miraculous Anchiskhati and Kakhuli Wall; a masterpiece from Queen Tamar’s epoch. The museum has a very rich and valuable collection of enamel jewelry, artwork and sculptures of Georgian artists, including the most complete collection of Niko Pirosmanishvili.
The museum also preserves masterpieces of West European art including a painting by Lucas Cranach, an artist of the renaissance period. The Eastern collection of the museum is rich in unique carpets and embroidery works.